Even the Toys are Against Us

If you are parent, try and remember a time that you had an actual conversation with your spouse without being interrupted by a small child?

Can’t remember a time?

Well, I think that is because you can’t. This simply doesn’t exist.

It is impossible to have a conversation with each other of any importance when children around. You can start and get really into it and then a child will fall and start bleeding or another one will pull a book shelf on themselves or another one will have something really important to tell you about how Pokemon evolve or another will desperately try to get your attention and then when you finally give it to him, he will become tongue tide and not say a word.

By the time you deal with all these distractions the conversation that you were having with your spouse is long gone. The thoughts are lost. The point is missed and usually the whole thing is forgotten.

No wonder why there are so many communication issues in a  marriage.

Well, after learning this the hard way, Jeff and I talk after the kids in bed. Sometimes these talks involve just discussing the plan for the week and other times they are more serious like talking about who should be then one to put the suitcase away. But whatever the topic, it is just nice to have a conversation without any interruptions.

But lately, this time is filled with interruptions too. The toys are being to turn against us.

Here, let me demonstrate.

Jen: Now next week, I have to work on..

Toy: AAAAA

Jen: I am working on Tuesday and Thursday and I have a class on Wednesday. What should we do about…

Toy: Big bird, you say the letter.

Jeff: What should we do with what?

Jen: What?

Toy: A…Y…. B

Jeff: What did you say?

Toy: Big Bird, you say the letter

Jen: I want to know what we should do…

Toy: B… A… A… B…

Jeff: Huh?

Toy: Let’s learn some words.

Jen: Oh, never mind.

See, if it is not the kids stopping us from talking, it is the toys.

I am beginning to think that the only way to have an uninterrupted conversation with my husband is to text him, even if he is in the same room as me.

0 thoughts on “Even the Toys are Against Us”

  1. I totally understand how you feel. I keep on getting interrupted by my 2 boys when I talk. I do resort to SMS + e-mail if I need to get any important information relayed to him.

  2. Ha ha ha ha! This made me laugh out loud. This is exactly why I never replace the batteries in my kids’ toys. And pry them out of certain other ones.

  3. I have found myself, often, recently having full on conversations (monologues) with our pet bird and my daughters large stuffed dinosaur!

    It is hard – my partner has no kids of his own (yet) so is still learning to deal with the interuptions! Its amusing to see him try and battle a willful child

  4. Just wait until they’re old enough to know to be quiet – and eavesdrop – frustration on a whole other level.

    I need to look into this thing you call “texting.”

  5. Funny and true! Our latest problem is the children (7 & 3) interrupting each other as they try to talk to us. They fight for who gets our undivided attention to listen to whatever it is they NEED to say, and yes, this usually occurs in the middle of conversations I am trying to have with my husband, and ALWAYS when I’m on the phone!

  6. Those toys scare the HELL out of me. I will be sitting at my computer typing, nothing but silence surrounding me, when Elmo will scream out, “Do you want to play with Elmo?”

    1. We actually had to throw away this puzzle that made animal sounds when you removed the pieces because it was haunted. It would make noise while sitting in the dark closet when I know no one was taking about a piece. Too scary for me.

  7. We just had this talk (as much as we could) last night at dinner. I was trying desperately to tell iKeith what had happened on The Young and the Restless and I couldn’t finish. Someone…kept interrupting.

    Since he’s now working as an Apple Code Monkey (his words, not mine)…we are using iChat during the day and it’s working out great!

    1. I have to say, I LOVE that you love the Young and the Restless. That is my mom’s soap and I grew up watching it with her. I used to be totally addicted but then I had kids and it comes on at bad time for little kids. *sigh*

      1. This probably makes me a bad mom…but they kind of watch it with me. They mostly play but when I say…Mommy’s watching her stories! They find something else to do.

        🙂

      2. That’s how I started watching it with my mom. She had it on and one day, I paid attention instead of playing. 🙂

  8. OMG, this is SO my life.
    I only have to open my mouth, and my 4 yr old interrupts. I’ve learned to not get toooo irritated – as about half the time, its to say “mama, I love you…”

    And same daughter has a Fur Real kitty, and that freaky thing does look/sound real…and when the batteries start to go, it meows non stop – in an empty room. We have flashbacks of Chucky and have to rock/paper/scissors to go turn the damn thing off.

    1. LOL! That right there is why I will not ever get my kids one of those real as life pets/toys. I fear that it will actually become real and take over my brain or something like that. 😉

  9. Lol! My husband and I have texted each other while in the same room. He has also called me while in the same room.. but mostly because he is a geek like that 🙂

  10. *disclaimer::i do not actually have children yet* but i LOVE texting Mandy when we’re in the same room, it’s so much easier to make fun of the other people there.

  11. What’s really sad is how many times I was interrupted while trying to read your post.

    Pirate toys are the worst. They wait in silence for ages, then laugh evilly at you.

    1. OH, my GOSH — I’m doing the same thing here —

      “CAN YOU JUST BE QUIET AND LET ME FINISH THIS??!!”

      Oh, I think we all secretly live in the same house.

  12. Oh this was hysterical! I clearly remember one night at 2 am going downstairs and yanking the batteries out of a Winnie the Pooh ride-on toys as I could not stand to hear “Anyone for honey?” one more time.

  13. Argh — I feel your pain. I end up going with my husband when he has errands or work to do, since it’s the only time we can complete a conversation without the children interrupting.

    Oh, and the toys? Try this one on for size — we have 3 ‘laughing’ animals in our house — goofy things that roll around in the floor and laugh. I can’t tell you the times the damn things have gone off in the middle of the night, and scared the living hell out of me. Next chance I get, they are going in the goodwill bin, so that they can bless someone else.

Leave a comment