Bed

After a long hard day, there is nothing like crawling into bed.

I pull the cover back and slide in and instantly, I feel my body relax. It is like every muscle in my body has just left out a huge sigh of relief, Ahhhhh, my head snuggles in my pillow, I pull the covers up to my chin, ready for sleep to take me away.

Usually, after I get myself settled with all my pillows tucked around me just right, I fall right to sleep. Off to dreamland. It is a beautiful thing. Sweet, beautiful sleep.

But lately, this has not been the case. Jeff has been sleeping very fitfully. I get into bed, ready to settle down and I am met with this.

Bad breath blowing in my face.
Picking at my side.
Kicking me out of bed.
Yelling at me in his sleep.

It is not very conducive with sleep. And then there are the kids. At least once a night someone comes into my room.

“Mommy, I’m scared.”
“Mommy, want milk.”
“Mommy, sleep with you?”
Mommy, Mommy, Mommy.

I just have one question? What ever happened to Daddy? He is right next to me, does he not exists at night?

I love my bed. I am very thankful for my bed. I want to spend time in my bed. I want to sleep in my bed. Alone.

Why don’t these people understand this?

Why can’t they just stay away and let me sleep?

Leave a Reply

