Pencil Thin, Baking Boogers and Other Randomness

I am a nurse. It is my job to look at things that come out of the body, describe them and then choose from a drop down list on a computer to document what I see. There are choices like brown, green, creamy, thick, loose, thin, soft, formed and so on. But there is one choice that I really don’t know what to do with when I see it. And that is pencil thin. What in the world does that mean? In my almost 10 years as an RN, I have not seen anything come out of the body that looks, pencil thin. Seriously.

******

I was trying to enjoy a cup of coffee in the kitchen, when Jake wondered in. He looked up at me and said, “See dick, Mommy.” I about spit my coffee out of my mouth as I tried to understand what he was saying. “What?” I asked. “See dick. Want see dick, pleeese, Mom.” Jake said a little more urgently. “Jake, I don’t know what a ‘see dick’ is,” I said to him. Then he walked over the the fridge and tried to open the door. “See dick. See dick.” He said while pulling on the door. “Oh, do you want a Cheese Stick?” I said as the light bulb went off. “Yeah, see dick.” Jake said with a big grin.

******

Doesn’t this just make you want to try some of what we have been baking?


It comes complete with some extra chewy little pieces.
Yum. Yum.

******

Since our first snow last week, Hayden wanted to build a snowman. After many hours of begging and pleading, Jeff agreed. They built a little snowman. Hayden spent many, many minutes pick out each rock for his eyes and he found some leaves for ears. He was so proud of his creation. He loved his little snowman and show anyone who would look.

So how come a couple days later, did I find him murdering the poor thing? I am not just talking about knocking it over. No, I am talking about knocking it over, throwing the head across the yard and then stomping on it until its no longer recognizable.I just don’t get it. Seriously, what is wrong with these kids?

******

There are two things that I would really, really like to teach my children. First, I am not the trash can. No matter how ‘trashy’ I look, I do not want to hold your trash. The actual trash can is located under the sink, always has been, always will be. So Use It!

Secondly, when you put food in your mouth and chew it for a number of minutes, you are suppose to swallow it. Not come and find me and spit it out into my hand. That is so extremely gross. Chew and swallow food. That is all.

******

I hope you all have a great weekend. We are going to get our Christmas tree. Well, if we can find one in the blizzard that we are having, should be fun.

Leave a Reply

