Whatever It Takes To Be The ‘Cool Mom’

Ever before I was a mom, I knew that when I became a mom, I wanted to be one of the ‘cool moms’.

You know the ones. The mom that all the kids adore and flock to. She is just so totally cool and knows all the trends and listens to the latest music.

The ‘cool mom’ is fun to hang out with, fun to talk to and she also has the best house. You know the house, where all the kids come to chill and jam out.

I so want to have this kind of house. This is one of the reasons, I agreed to build our house where we did.

Living in the woods is cool. There is all kinds of fun things to do like make tree forts, have bonfires, sleep in a tent in the woods and plenty of creepy, crawly animals to catch.

Oh and the cool mom, always has the best food. The cool mom’s house has all the food that the other moms don’t let you eat. She is able to whip up some mean nachos and a banana split in a moments notice.

This is my dream.

I have some time yet to work on this dream because right now my kids think that I am totally cool when I blow bubbles or draw a space ship. But it is never to early to start working on the next phase of the dream.

So in an effort to work towards my dream of becoming the ‘cool mom’, I have been watching the Disney channel.
I feel that even though my kids are not old enough to know who Hannah Montana or The Jonas Brothers are, it is only a matter of time before they do. It is just the natural progression to go from watching Mickey Mouse Club House and Handy Manny to Hannah Montana or The Jonas Brother, right?

So at night, after the kids are in bed, I watch Hannah Montana, Wizards of Waverly Place, Jonas and The Suite Life of Zach and Cody.

I watch the shows and laugh at the jokes even though at times it is painful to do so. I endure the hours and hours of poor acting that makes me want to poke my own eyes out. I bob my head to the music and try to tune out the headache that is forming.

But I watch and I am committed to watching all for the sake of being the ‘cool mom’. I am doing it for my kids. They will thank me someday, when I know what is in and cool.

Lately, there been a strange thing is happening. I find that I no longer have to force laughter at the lame and poorly timed comedy. I find myself not being able to change the channel after a show is finished.

I have also found, you may want to sit down for this, that the music of Miley Cyrus and Selena Gomez has made it onto my iPod. And not only has the music made it onto my iPod but I regularly listen to it with the volume turned way up while dancing around.

*gasp*

I know, I know. But I assure you, it is all in the name of the being the ‘cool mom’ so it’s all good, people. It’s all good.

Because being a ‘cool mom is not just a dream, it is a state of being.

Leave a Reply

