For The First Time

One of the magical things about having kids is experiencing the world through their eyes.

We went to the zoo the other day. This is not the first time that we have been to the zoo. It is not even the first time that the babies have been to the zoo.

But it was the first time that the babies have been as toddlers.
Toddlers who can verbalize their likes and dislikes.
Toddlers who can express their excitement.

It was so neat to watch the babies, especially Quinn and Jake, in the zoo.
Animals are a very big thing in our house.
I wish that I could have recorded Jake and Quinn’s expression when they first saw the zoo and discovered what it was with those toddler eyes.

The wonder and amazement was truly priceless.
Each new habitat brought out pure joy.
Each new animal brought squeals of delight.
And the petting zoo.
Oh, the wonder of the petting zoo.

I was kind of nervous that the zoo would not go over well with the kids. I thought it was just one of those places that we had been to before.
Just another one of those ideas that you get as a Mom that don’t go exactly as planned.
But boy, was I wrong.

The zoo was a huge hit.
But even though the kids had an awesome time, I think that I had an even better time.
Because I got to see the zoo for the first time too.
All through my three toddlers.

Leave a Reply

