Writer’s Workshop: Childhood Memories

Writer’s Workshop: Prompt #4
You can go back to your childhood for one day. What day and age do you choose?

It was a Saturday morning and it was time to go.
The boat was packed and ready to be hitched to the van.
The coolers were full of food and drink for the day and baskets held towels needed for time spent at the beach. Children were dressed in swim suits and inflatable water toys peeked out from the back of the boat.

The sky was blue and the sun was just starting to warm the day.

My thoughts were drawn to the water. The blue color, the waves and the coolness it offered after being in the sun on a warm summer day.

Perhaps today I would meet a mermaid and she would show me her underwater kingdom. We would play in the waves and swim with the dolphins. We would find all the treasures that the lake kept secret.

Perhaps.

Or maybe when we climbed to the top of the tallest sand dune, I would be able to touch the clouds. Just reach out and touch one as they went by. The white clouds seemed to float so effortlessly in the brilliant blue sky. I just want to touch one. I could grab hold and float away for a ride like no other.

Perhaps.

Or maybe we would finally find the deepest part of the lake. The boat would know the way. The part of the lake where the light beams seems to be coming up from the bottom, from a secret city hidden in the bluish green water. It would bubble up to the surface just for us and just as quickly as it came it would be gone again.

Perhaps.

Perhaps, I was just 10 years old.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This was a common way for a Saturday to be spent in my family growing up. My parents own a boat that they trailer behind the family van. Almost every weekend, growing up we were out on that boat.

This was our family time, just my mom, dad, sister, brother and me. Some of my best childhood memories were made while on that boat. As a family, we did not take big family vacations but we didn’t need to because every weekend we were off on another adventures with the boat.

I remember those days so vividly and all those things that I used to pretend but most of all I remember the happiness and the laughter. It wasn’t about things it was just about being together as a family. It just goes to show that it is truly the little things that make life so great.

Sponsored by Mama Kat.
Leave a Reply

