Writer’s Workshop: What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

I feel that I have two career’s. I am a mother and I am a nurse. But if you really think about it, they are almost the same thing.

As a mother, I am in charge of the day to day care of things, puked on, pooped on, whined at, given demands/orders, bearer of nutrients and the comforter. As a nurse, I am in charge of the day to day care of things, puked on, pooped on, whined at, given demands/orders, bearer of nutrients and the comforter. The only big difference is that at work, I have more potent drugs available to me.

Now don’t get me wrong. I love being a mother and I love being a nurse. But if I could go back in my life and choose my career all over again. I think that I might want to try something else.

I would want to be a Hair Stylist/Make-up Artist. I think that it would be cool to be on the payroll of J-Lo or Nicole Kidman. I would be a highly respected and sought after stylist in Hollywood. People would live up for days, just to have me cut and style their hair. I would know all the latest hair and make-up secrets. I would be able to women love themselves just by flipping on my flat iron.

OR

I would want to be a high powered executive, of what I am not really sure. But my office would be on the top floor of a New York sky scraper. I would have not one but two assistant that would cater to my every whim. I would enter a room and people would sit up and pay attention. And nothing would be done with out my say so. I would just ooze power and sex appeal. Oh the life of stilettos, pencil skirts and power suits.

OR

I would be a chef. I would not only have a restaurant where reservations were booked 6 months in advance but I would also have a super popular cooking show on the Food Network. You know, I would be Jenny Ray or Jena de Laurentiis. People would adore my food and totally lick their TV’s when my show would be on.

So what about you? Would you change career’s if given the chance or are you happy with where you are now? Is there something that you would love to do but life took you in another direction?

This post was brought to you by one of the prompts for Writer’s Workshop
at Mama’s Losin’ It.
Go see who else completed the assignment.

Leave a Reply

