Writer’s Workshop: The New Year’s Kiss

This post is brought to you by Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop. It is based on events that took place early in my relationship with Jeff but I have fictionalized some of it. A good story to get the New Year going. I hope you enjoy.

This time of year was always busy. The town was bursting with the holidays. So many tourist. So many people packed into this small town. It is so crowded during this time of year that I was sure if one more person tired to come up here, some one was going to fall off the mountain.

Every one was here for the snow. The fresh powder on the mountain just seemed to call to people. The beginner and expert alike, no one could resist the call of the mountain. No one, expect for me.

As soon as I was old enough, I was gone. This tourist town was not for me. I did not want to spend my life waiting for the tourist as my Aunt did. She was happiest when the Inn was full and depressed when it was not. I wanted something more stable, this ebb and flow was not for me.

Thankfully, tonight was New Year’s Eve. The last big party during the holiday season. My last shift waiting tables at the Inn. The last night that I would stay with my Aunt.

I missed my apartment, my space, my home, my life. I was done with being a waitress. I was going to do more with my life. I was going to study hard and make something of myself.

I knew that this broke my Aunt’s heart. I knew that she wanted me to take over the Inn. I knew that was why she wanted my here one last time, in hopes of changing my mind. Hoping against all hope that the pull of the Inn would be too strong for me to break away.

But she was wrong. I could not wait for this night to be over. I just wanted to serve the food and the drinks to all the happy people and be done. There was nothing that I was going to miss about this place.

Nothing.

Well, almost nothing. I would miss Jeff.

I had known Jeff most of my adult life. We always seemed to be together, just hanging out. Jeff was the one person that I could talk to. He and I had become really good friends over the years. He could always make me laugh.

My shifts on the nights that he was working always seemed a little nicer. I didn’t mind working at the Inn as long as he was there, I actually looked forward to seeing him on those nights.

I was really going to miss him.

I wonder if he will miss me? All he ever does is work here. I never seem him out with his friends. I have never seen him with any girls. He is such a good man, such a hard worker and I know that my Aunt loves to have him around. He takes care of her and this place like it is his own. I am glad he is here. But I really am going to miss him.

“Miss! Miss! Excuse me, Miss!?! Can you bring us some refills? Its almost midnight.”

“Huh? What? Oh, yes. Right away, sorry. What’ll you have?”

I wonder where Jeff is tonight? I have not seen him. Oh, I would hate to leave and not say good bye. I really should tell him good bye and what a great job he does here.

“Hey, Frank? Have you seen Jeff tonight? I thought that he was working?”

“Yeah, he is in the back. The dish washer quit so he is washing dishes tonight.”

“Oh, Thanks.”

Wow, that has got to suck. Going from cooking and serving the food to washing dishes. But that is Jeff, always willing to help no matter what.

“Hey, Jeff. How’s it going? Crap! That is a ton of dishes, did Hank wash any before he left?”

“Jen! I am glad that you stopped back here. I didn’t know if I was going to get to see you tonight. I think that I am going to be stuck here until the wee hours of the morning.”

“What? You can’t miss midnight! You have to come out at midnight. Who is going to give me my New Years kiss?”

Oh crap! Why did I say that? I don’t know what I am saying. I don’t want to kiss this guy, he is a friend, a really good friend. Me and my big mouth.

“Well, I have tables waiting. See you later.”

Ok, so maybe he didn’t hear me about the kiss part. The washer was running and it was very loud. Oh, I hope he didn’t hear me. Why was I thinking about kissing him anyway? I don’t want to kiss him, do I? No, Jeff is a friend but he is kinda cute in a boy next door sorta way. He is sorta sexy when he is whipping up those omelets. Oh man that boy can cook. Yum!

What am I saying? I can’t be thinking about him this way. Jeff is a friend that is it. Why am I thinking about this tonight. I am leaving in a few hours. But just look at him. He is soaked. His wet tee-shirt clings to he body and shows the definition of each muscle flexing as he lifts each rack like its weightless.

What? Where did that come from? I can’t have this. What is wrong with me? Where are these things coming from?

Ok, new plan; avoid Jeff. I can’t see him then I can’t think about him. I will just keep myself busy waiting tables. I will be so busy that I will just work past midnight and then it will be time to go.

“Good evening, everyone. Welcome to the Inn. My name is Jen and I will be taking care of you tonight. Can I get you something to drink?”

Thank goodness that is over. If I have to serve one more person a rum and coke, I think I am going to puke. Home here I come.

I had said my good-byes for the last time and I was walking to my car, ready to start a new chapter in my life. One away from here. But as I walked there was a sadness in my heart. I had made myself so busy, maybe too busy, that I had missed Jeff. He was a good friend and he deserved better then this. I didn’t even get to tell him good-bye. I am really going to miss him.

“Jen?”

“Oh, Jeff? What? Why? I thought that you had gone home?”

“Well, I did but I forgot something?”

Oh god! Oh god! Oh god! Stay calm, act cool, it is no big deal. Keep it together Jen, why are you freaking out. It is just Jeff. No big deal….

“Really, hehehe, forgot something? What?”

And then there was no more talking, my mind when completely blank. My heart began to do flip flops in my chest. My knees were no longer strong enough to support my weight. I let go and I let my body do what it had wanted to do for so long.

I kissed him as he kissed me.

As he pulled my body to his, there was no more arguing between my head and my heart. My heart had won. It was a kiss years in the making. It was a kiss that I never wanted to end. I was a kiss that changed my life in more ways than I could have ever imagined.

Leave a Reply

