Simply Thankful

With Thanksgiving just a few days away, I wanted to take minute to think about some things that I am really thankful for. I wanted to look past the ‘easy’ blessings to those little things in life that make me smile and just in some ways make my day.

I am of course thankful for my family, my husband, my kids, my health, my job, my house, a little money in the bank and my list of ‘easy’ thankfulness could go on and on. But with this list, I had to think about it. Look a little deeper. These are the little things that make life, let say more enjoyable for me.

I am thankful for my Kitchen Shears. When it comes to cutting up food for the three, sometimes four, hungry kids nothing does it faster than using a pair of scissors. It is the best way I know to cut up pizza, pancakes, spaghetti, sandwiches and the list goes on and on. When I pack the diaper bag to go out, I make sure to add my scissors.

I am thankful for medications, most importantly Motrin, Tylenol and Benedryl. These all ease the suffering of my sick children and help them and me get some much needed rest.

I am thankful for my gadgets. I feel so thankful just to be able to have these things. I love my iPod touch and my Nikon Coolpix Camera. I use them so often to keep in touch with the blogging world, that I hold so dear, and to capture images and video for the blog. Blogging would not be as fun with out them.
And lets not forget to mention the music and iTunes and the Wifi and pictures. All of it right at my finger tips. I just love it.

I am thankful for my Ocheyedan High School Reunion cookbook. My Grandma gave this to me as a wedding present. It reminds me of her, her house, her cooking, her love. I miss her so and this helps keep her close.

I am thankful for chocolates. More specifically, a holiday special that is only at Costco for a couple months. I look forward to these all year. These little truffles cups just make me happy. I can have one (or two) and be transported to a blissful place for just a few seconds. Its heaven in a chocolate.

Well, that is it, not really but its a start. In thinking about this post I came across many things in my daily life for which I am thankful. Things that I usually take for granted but when I thought about it wouldn’t want to be without. It was kind of eye opening. So I ask you, what are some little things in life that you are thankful for?

Leave a Reply

