A Mother’s Birthday Wish

Until about 5 years ago, I did not understand what is meant to be a mother.
I did not understand the love; love in which your heart is now outside our body. I did not understand the worry; worry that can shatter your whole world in a second.
I did not understand the sacrifice; sacrifice in which your happiness as a person no longer comes first, when your children are happy that is truly the greatest joy.
I did not understand your faith, faith in God which is needed to raise strong children.
And I did not understand you, Mom. That is until I became a mother.

I see and know why you did the things to you did, the choices you made.
I understand you, your hard work and just trying to give us a happy life.
I understand your tears when I cried.
I understand your friendship and support when I needed it most.
I understand your joy and praise at my greatest moments.
I understand it all because I am now a mother.
I am a good mother because of you. In some ways, I followed your example and in other ways I learned from it.
Thank you.

Thank you for helping me be the best mother that I can be.
I celebrate today, your Birthday. I know that it maybe filled with more sadness than joy but know this, I love you, I am grateful for you, I cherish you and I am so proud to have you as a mother and a grandmother to my children.

From her namesake, I wish you the Happiest of Birthdays.

Posted by Picasa

Click here to see who else is joining in for Wordful Wednesday.
Leave a Reply

