Leavin’ on a Jet Plane. Don’t Know When I’ll be Back Again.

Welcome, ‘Blog around the World‘ readers. Today your trip takes you to Michigan, the ‘Wolverine State’. This is really a beautiful state to live in. We are lucky enough to experience the four seasons (or if you will 2 season, road construction and hockey). And that means there is no planning on the weather but if you wait about 10 minutes, things are bound to change.
For those of you who want to see Michigan in all its splendor, here are a few seasonal pictures.

Spring
Summer
FallWinter

OK, so maybe you guessed it, those are not pictures of Michigan. Just some random ones that I found on the internet but they are beautiful.

When the hostess of ‘Blog around the World‘ contacted me, I was thrilled. I am loving the fact that I am going to be featured (well, lets face it who doesn’t like all the attention) but I had no idea what I was going to post about.
This blog is all about me and my life with triplets plus their big brother (yes, triplets) but the purpose about going around the world is to learn about the places and meet new people.
I have got the meeting people down but I am sad to say that even though, I have lived in this state my entire life, I really know nothing about it. I am not really up on my state trivia. It has not been high on my priority list since my time is mostly spent just trying to come out from under the pile of my children and life.
So I did a little homework. I went on the trusty internet and learned some fun (although kind of random) things about my good old state of Michigan.

1. The state name is from the Indian word, ‘meicigama’ meaning great or large lake.
2. Residents of Michigan are lovingly referred to as Michiganders or Michiganites.

My little Michiganders
and my Michiganite

3. The state motto is “If you seek a pleasant peninsula, look around you.”
4. We are surrounded by the Great Lakes. Can you name them? (I will give you a hint, H.O.M.E.S)

5.People from Michigan will often use their hand to show you were they are from with in the state.

“I live here”

6. There are over 11,000 inland lakes and over 36,000 miles of streams though out the state. Besides Alaska, Michigan has the more shoreline than any other state.

7. No matter where you stand in the state you are 85 miles from the Great Lakes.
8. Michigan is the 8th most populated state in the country (I knew it was crowded here). The list: California, New York, Texas, Florida, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan.
9. Some famous people who are natives or residents (I have never seen them); Robin Williams, Madonna, Lily Tomlin, Casey Kasem, ‘Magic’ Johnson, and the 38th President of the United States Gerald R. Ford.
10. This is a nice place to live. Although the weather changes often, we have no threat of earthquakes or hurricanes. I really like living here.

Well, I hope that you enjoyed your trip and maybe learned a thing or two. Come by again, as tomorrow we will be back to our regular schedule of my life.
I do have just one more question, all you from those warm and sunny beach states, do you think that you might have some room in your luggage for me. I really could use a child-less vacation.

Leave a Reply

